Cookbook Giveaway

I’m slowly moving my food posts from my blogspirit blog to this blog. And since I posted an outside link for Catholic Cuisine, I thought I’d celebrate the (re)launching of my food blog by giving away a cookbook. (Although I’m not promising lots of posts here, as I do a lot of posting at Catholic Cuisine for food ideas.)

I found an extra copy of The Festive Food of Ireland by Darina Allen, the copyright is 1992. My other copy I bought in Ireland when I visited around on my 30th birthday. The book is delightful with a flavor of true Irish recipes, traditions, and luscious photographs and illustrations. The festive days covered are:

St. Bridget’s Day
St. Patrick’s Day
Easter
May Day
The Stations
Hay Making
Lughnasa
Threshing
Michaelmas
Hallowe’en
St. Martin’s Eve
Christmas
St. Stephen’s Day
The Twelfth Day of Christmas

It’s a slim but packed cookbook, delightful if you enjoy reading cookbooks, especially about Irish cooking. I wanted to send this book out before Hallowe’en and St. Martin’s Day as the Irish traditions are many for these days.

Leave a comment and share what foods (besides Halloween candy) you like to eat or make (or plan to) for Hallowe’en, All Saints All Souls, and/or Martinmas (November 11).

We’ll have a drawing of the winner on Saturday evening, October 18 (the feast of St. Luke) and announce the winner Sunday morning.

Thanks for stopping by!

28 thoughts on “Cookbook Giveaway

  1. We are really going to attempt mexican sugar skulls this year for All Saints/All Souls. I am leaning toward a study/feast of the more latin/South/Central American traditions for All Saints/All Souls than our European celebrations of the past.
    I also like the idea of something in the shape of a horseshoe for Martinmas, maybe even a giant sugar cookie decorated and shaped in this way? and also Estonian? N European tradition of a harvest grain/vegetable dish of sorts to “share” a bit of all of the grains/vegetables one has on hand… I’ve read some that include 15 different grains!! and loads of chopped vegetables!!
    enter me in the drawing!! thanks! 🙂

  2. Well, we always have grand plans for feast days, but they always seem to get away from us. St. Martins day will hopefully see us making paper lanterns, and I’m intrigued by the link you posted ages ago at 4Real to Goose soup…maybe I’ll tweak it?

  3. Well, All Souls Day is actually the day we picked up our son in Guatemala, so I’m planning black bean soup and chilaquiles–not quite liturgically appropriate, I know. 🙂 I’ll have to look around for an All Saints’ Day menu to make up for it.

  4. Oh! How deliciously exciting!

    For Martinmas – we’ll be slow cooking a roast in wine with harvest vegetables to link the various connections with St. Martin. Though we always cook with wine 🙂 St. Martin is the patron of vintners – so it seems appropriate especially on his feast to eat a roast slow cooked in wine.

    We’ll try Soul Cakes for All Souls this year!

    Thanks for the give-away, Jenn! Please enter us!

  5. Jenn, not sure that you will ship to me, but I would love to have the book. I have not planned our feasts yet, but I did like the sugar skull idea when I saw it on the Internet. I will be consulting my Cooking for Christ for more ideas on St. Martin. Just love that book!

  6. I’m thinking of making a trail mix full of symbols of the saints for All Saints Day. A few of the ingredients I’ve come up with are goldfish crackers for fisherman Sts. Peter or Andrew, rock candy for St. Stephan who was stoned, gummy worms for St. Patrick to represent snakes, Honey Bee graham crackers (they’re shaped like little bees) for St. Ambrose, candy skulls for St. Jerome, chocolate coins for St. Matthew the tax collector, and chocolate shells for St. Brigid.

    The cookbook sounds fascinating, Jenn!

  7. I just like to make pumpkin bread and sugar cookie pumpkins for the kids to decorate. I’ve also done the easy graveyard cake in the past, just a chocolate cake with choc frosting and oreo cookie crumbs with milano cookies for the gravestones and little mellopumpkin candies.
    I too would like to have more ideas for the feast days, and for St. Martin as that was my grandfather’s day and my youngest’s middle name as he was due on the feast of one St. Martina and born on the feast of the other!
    Thanks!
    Tina t

  8. Hello. Honestly I do not remember my mom making any specific type of food. 🙂 But I did a little research & the following recipe definately sounds like something she might have made.

    Trish in CT

    As usual with big Catholic Feast days, food is involved with the day, with many Catholic families having picnics near their loved ones’ graves. Traditional foods include “Soul Food” — food made of lentils or peas.

    Basic Split Pea Soup (serves 4)

    1 cup chopped onion
    2 cloves garlic (optional)
    1 teaspoon vegetable oil or bacon grease
    1 pound dried split peas
    1 pound ham bone
    1 c. chopped ham
    1 c. chopped carrots (optional)
    salt and pepper to taste

    In a medium pot, sauté onions in oil or bacon grease. (Optional: add garlic and sauté until just golden, then remove). Remove from heat and add split peas, ham bone and ham. Add enough water to cover ingredients, and season with salt and pepper.

    Cover, and cook until there are no peas left, just a green liquid, 2 hours. (Optional: add carrots halfway through) While it is cooking, check to see if water has evaporated. You may need to add more water as the soup continues to cook.

    Once the soup is a green liquid remove from heat, and let stand so it will thicken. Once thickened you may need to heat through to serve. Serve with either sherry or sour cream on top, and with a crusty bread.

  9. This year we will be focusing on pumpkins. We love pumpkin pie, pumpkin muffins, and pumpkin (shaped) cookies! The muffins are generally eaten before heading out to bed for candy – so that I know that the girls have eaten a few nutrients that night.

  10. Thanks. Soup and Salad. I like to think it offsets the sugar overload of the season. 🙂 thanks for the drawing

  11. Jenn, I’m drawing a blank as to what I usually make for those feasts. Not good considering they’re all coming up soon! Ack!

    Instead, I’ll share something we do for All Saints’ that your older boy might enjoy. I crafted a whale from one of those lidded rice containers so that the whale had a large mouth. I line the interior with quart size zipper bag and put some cooked and cooled spaghetti into the whale’s mouth along with miscellaneous small plastic toys (e.g., plastic animals, lego pieces) and “Jonah,” who is usually a Lego man or other small plastic male figure. The kids take turns trying to get Jonah out of the whale. Some kids think it is gross and want nothing to do with it, but most love it and keep trying again and again to find Jonah.

  12. Jennifer I am so excited about this draw ! All souls day is my absolute most fav feast day of the year 😉
    I started taking the children out to the little cemetary each all souls eve . This is out at the lake where gramma lives 😉 some times we do have snow but we don’t care it is beautiful .
    For food I make soul cakes from a british website I found . We make sugar skulls too but frankly I don’t like them just to sweet .Real marzipan would be great . We were in MX the yr Our Lady Guadalupe helped us 😉 we had no idea what was going on just so beautiful candles all night long . I think I will make food my gramma liked as oct31st was her birthday . Wild rice , biscuts , pickrel fillets . The kids and I always pull out pictures of our relatives and place them on our nature table with saint cards etc.
    I’ve gone on far to long 😉 Thanks so much for the draw , Roxie

  13. Hello,
    Thank you for inviting me here to your site.

    What we will be doing for Halloween is to host a party and have guests bring their favorite fall food. We will ask everyone to be prepared to tell us the how-to of fixing the food that they brought. We will encourage everyone to tell us their story or memory of why this particular food is special to them.

    A contest will be held to “rename” each of the foods to give them a Halloween theme name. The contest winners will each take home a goodie bag, (no one knows yet but everyone who partisapates by bring a food item that they made will win).

    I will have index cards for anyone who wants to copy down the how-to instructions for the different foods or ideas they want to keep for the party.

    I will be making guacaomoli filled tarts with little slices of chives tops as decoration and calling them “stagnant ponds” they display wonderfully and are silly/creepy good for you food…

    Pax
    dolly

    P.S. If it’s still ok please put my name in for that wonderful cookbook, my maiden name is McCumpsey (at least that is the spelling now) ….from Co. Meath, Ireland if the family stories are correctly remembered….

  14. What a lovely book. I must admit our family is more inclined to claim our Irish heritage than any of the others. We really enjoy this time of year with all the wonderful feast days, beautiful colors and savory flavors. I’m turning over a new leaf as I learn from ladies like you how to cook liturgically. So, menu plans are still in the making for the end of the month. One of my favorite fall recipes is the Pork Stew with Apricots at Epicurious.com.

  15. I have no fun food ideas…I’m slightly behind when it comes to kitchen skills. So I need all the help I can get 🙂 Thanks for the offering Jenn!

  16. My birthday is November 3rd so we usually go to a Mexican Restaurant near the Day of the Dead (Nov. 1st & 2nd) and see what they have. They usually have something special on the menu and skully cookies. I don’t remember eating anything special at this time of year when I was a child except just picked apples, candy & caramel apples, cider, pumpkin seeds and pumpkin pie. I usually have favorite candy that my parents bought around Halloween too. I like to hear and learn what others do on Special Holy Days.

  17. I have a hard time keeping up with you Jenn! But, I’ll keep on trying.

    I can’t say we have any special recipes for those days (you’re helping me with those) but this week we are trying to make some pumpkin recipes.

  18. Hi Jenn,
    This cookbook sounds wonderful! We are lovers of the Emerald Isle in our home (with daughters doing Irish Dance and dh a lover of all kinds of Irish music and beer!).
    Count me in for the draw, please!
    God bless you and yours!

  19. We celebrate Halloween by an All Saints party only — too much ghoulishness otherwise… We make pumpkin soup, though, and are sure to do a nice cheerful face in the skin!

  20. Thanks for the invite over. I am not a fancy cook, but I adore learning about the various feast days of the year. I think it would help me to learn to cook something “special” for those days. ANyway, great blog here.

    Karen in KS

  21. Enter me! We are very Irish. I’m half Irish and my husband also has a little bit in him. All our kids have Irish names! Sounds like a great cookbook. Thanks!

  22. Hi Jennifer! Thanks for the opportunity to win a great cookbook! I collect cookbooks and love every one of them, knowing their covers and pages so very well…. as others pick up a book to read, I pick up my cookbooks to ‘read’ and ponder… to be inspired. I love cooking and sharing my creations with my family and friends. As All Hallow’s Eve is a Friday this year, we’ll probably have our special meal on Saturday, All Saint’s Day. Probably will be Soul Cake’s or doughnuts. Thanks! ~*Karen Miller (no relation, but sisters in faith!!)

Comments are closed.